Value of trauma clinics in the encounter with cancer – suffering patients

Abstract

 

In this text, I have wished to convey how a psychodynamic approach with patients facing cancer-illness, is likely to meet the needs of a great number of cases. By psychodynamic, I mean the transferential approach of trauma, such as was decisively investigated by Ferenczi, D. W. Winnicott, etc….

The specificity of this therapeutic approach, as well when meeting the patient, as throughout the treatment, enables the actual trauma of illness, beside its destructive consequences, to contribute a life – and hope – enhancing experience. Providing the clinician’s listening is based on the working-through of his / her own trauma, it may furthermore bring into reach those traumata of early bonds – such as are transgenerationally or historically induced – allowing the therapist to adjust to (tune into) the urge (call) for being and growth of an unclaimed-for child, and be willing to join in, at the borders between life and death, for a journey through – and out of – breakdown.

The radical transformation of the clinic as a product of the transmission of clinical meetings with transsexual people

Summary. The clinical encounters with transsexuals have profoundly changed my psychoanalytic view, in practice and in theory. This radical transformation will be studied from the Lacanian clinic starting from the obstacles that are presented theoretically in my clinical experience. The confrontation with the enigma transsexual will cause a radical change in which knowledge produced by transgender people themselves has a decisive part. The concepts of structure and disease will be excluded and it is with the last part of Lacan’s teaching, knots, mingled with Marx’s theories of value as operating logic will be implemented.

From annoyed love to erotomaniacal transference

Summary. Starting from a clinical case of erotomania is developed a thought on the practice of transfer in psychosis This case help us to learn, on one hand, how can be assumed the transfer with the psychotic subject, and on the other hand, what the subject can invent as autogenous solution, here delirious solution, to ward off the eminence of a deadly relation to his psychosis. The clinician must be able to find there a model of his aim as therapist, namely the introduction of a function of limit of the jouissance. Read more

VARIA. Placebo and transference : the hypothesis of the unconscious faced to clinical research

Abstract. The placebo phenomenon is widely used in medicine, for current practice and clinical research (RCT), but it is still partialy mysterious. For most of medical specialities, psychiatry included, the psychological stakes are understood from a causal logic. Despite the hypothesis of unconscious which is implicated, it is not taken it into account. Using of this hypothesis is showing that considering other psychoanalytic concepts as the transferance, it is possible to renew interest that the medicine and the psychology grant to placebo phenomenon. Read more

Fécondité de la clinique du trauma dans la rencontre avec le patient atteint de cancer

Résumé

 

Dans ce texte, j’ai voulu montrer en quoi une approche psychodynamique du patient confronté au cancer, fondée sur l’abord transférentiel du trauma tel qu’exploré de façon décisive par Ferenczi, Winnicott, etc., pouvait répondre aux besoins d’un grand nombre de malades.

La spécificité de cette approche thérapeutique, tant dans la rencontre que dans le processus de cure, peut en effet contribuer, pour le patient, à faire du trauma du cancer, à côté de son impact destructeur, une expérience qui peut être mutative, porteuse de vie et d’espoir. Elle peut notamment être l’occasion d’avoir accès à ces traumas des liens précoces, transgénérationnels ou de la grande histoire, si toutefois le psychanalyste est apte, à partir ed l’élaboration de ses propres traumas, à entendre l’appel à être et à naître de cet enfant issu du trauma n’ayant pas eu droit de cité, non attesté, et à le rejoindre dans ces confins entre la vie et la mort, lui permettant de traverser l’effondrement.

Lire le reste de cet article »

La transformation radicale de la clinique comme produit de la transmission des rencontres cliniques avec des personnes transexuelles

Résumé. Les rencontres cliniques avec des personnes transsexuelles ont profondément modifié ma conception psychanalytique, en pratique et en théorie. Cette transformation radicale sera étudiée à partir de la clinique lacanienne en partant des obstacles qui se sont présentés au niveau théorique dans mon expérience clinique. La confrontation à l’énigme transsexuelle sera source d’un changement radical où le savoir produit par les personnes transsexuelles elles-mêmes a une part déterminante. Les concepts de structure ou de maladie seront exclus et c’est avec la dernière partie de l’enseignement de Lacan, les nœuds, mêlé aux théories de Marx sur la valeur qu’une logique de fonctionnement sera mise en place.

Lire le reste de cet article »

De l’amour contrarié au transfert érotomaniaque

Résumé. En partant d’un cas clinique d’érotomanie est développée une réflexion sur la pratique du transfert dans la psychose. Ce cas nous fait enseignement d’une part sur la manière dont peut être assumé le transfert avec le sujet psychotique, et d’autre part sur ce que le sujet invente comme solution autogène, ici délirante, pour parer à l’éminence du rapport mortifère à sa psychose. Le clinicien doit pouvoir trouver là un modèle de sa visée de thérapeute, soit l’instauration d’une fonction de limite de la jouissance.

Lire le reste de cet article »

VARIA. Placebo et transfert : l’hypothèse de l’inconscient à l’épreuve de la recherche clinique

Résumé. Largement utilisé en médecine, dans la pratique courante comme dans la recherche clinique, le phénomène placebo reste entouré d’un certain mystère. Dans la plupart des spécialités médicales, y compris en psychiatrie, ses enjeux psychologiques sont abordés à partir d’une logique causale. Bien qu’impliquée dans son surgissement, l’hypothèse de l’inconscient est rarement prise en compte dans les travaux qui l’étudient. Mobiliser cette hypothèse montre qu’en considérant d’autres concepts psychanalytiques comme le transfert, il est possible de renouveler l’intérêt que la médecine et la psychologie clinique portent au phénomène placebo.

Lire le reste de cet article »