From therapeutic work to inestimable work. “Don’t separate pure theory from what’s going on”

Abstract

This article articulates therapeutic work as discussed in the 1960s by psychiatrists of the institutional psychotherapy movement with the inestimable work conceptualized by Jean Oury in the 2000s in response to managerial evaluation. Inestimable work is understood at the therapeutic, economic and ethical levels. This last dimension appears to be linked to the rise of a perfectionist approach to care. Its development and transmission over several decades around the notions of daily life and “caring function” are essential in front of the analysis of other aspects linked to hierarchical relationships and the division of labour between employees, an analysis which is also essential but which is left to others.

Anteriority of ethics on the collective work

Summary

In a cross-reading of psychodynamics of work with institutional psychotherapy, the author questions the relationship between the collective – conceived as an agonistic space – and the underlining of ethics. She analyzes the relationship between courtesy as a social rule and kindness as an ethical rule and stresses the limits of the Aristotelian model of collective deliberation, when one needs to think about the dynamics of the caring collective taking into account its heterogeneity. Ethics is considered as a condition of the collective around a “necessary minimum” that makes possible the conflict and the elaboration of ethical rules for action. The article concludes with the questions raised by the articulation between the peer group and the function of director.

 

Reception of subjects addicts in institutions: some reflexions (still) current

Summary : the author proposes, through his experience and his meetings with patients “addicts” some reflexions to think and set up a reception institution adapted and specific to this population in the context of institutional therapy practices A reminder is mentioned on the major fact that “it is the relationship that heals” when it is based on an ethical position always reinterpreted in the light of human sciences and neuroscience.

Du travail thérapeutique au travail inestimable. « Ne pas distinguer la théorie pure de ce qui se passe »

Résumé

Cet article articule le travail thérapeutique tel qu’il est discuté dans les années 1960 par les psychiatres du mouvement de la psychothérapie institutionnelle avec le travail inestimable conceptualisé par Jean Oury dans les années 2000 en réponse à l’évaluation gestionnaire. Le travail inestimable s’entend au niveau thérapeutique, économique et éthique. Cette dernière dimension apparaît liée à la montée en puissance d’une démarche perfectionniste dans le soin dont l’élaboration et la transmission sur plusieurs décennies autour des notions de vie quotidienne et de fonction soignante s’imposent devant l’analyse d’autres versants de l’activité liés aux rapports hiérarchiques et à la division du travail entre salariés, analyse également indispensable, mais qui est laissée à d’autres.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Antériorité de l’éthique sur le collectif

Résumé

Dans une lecture croisée de la psychodynamique du travail avec la psychothérapie institutionnelle, l’auteure interroge le rapport entre le collectif conçu comme espace agonistique et la sous-jacence de l’éthique. Elle analyse les rapports entre la politesse comme règle sociale et la gentillesse comme règle éthique et souligne les limites du modèle aristotélicien de la délibération collective, quand on a besoin de penser la dynamique du collectif soignant en tenant compte de son hétérogénéité. L’éthique est considérée comme condition du collectif autour d’un « minimum nécessaire » qui rend possible le conflit et l’élaboration de règles éthiques pour l’action. L’article se conclut sur les questions soulevées par l’articulation entre le collectif de pairs et la fonction de chef d’orchestre.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Accueil des sujets addicts en institution: quelques refléxions (encore) actuelles

Résumé : l’auteur propose, au fil de son expérience et de ses rencontres avec les patients “addicts” quelques pistes de réflexion pour penser et mettre en place un accueil en institution, adapté et spécifique de cette population, dans le cadre des pratiques de thérapies institutionnelles. Un rappel est mentionné sur le fait ma­jeur que “c’est la relation qui soigne” quand elle s’appuie sur une position éthique toujours réintérrogée à la lumière des sciences humaines puis des neurosciences.

Lire le reste de cet article »