Instituting the role of conflict in « Kulturarbeit »

Abstract

The article is dedicated to discerning the vital function of conflict in Kulturarbeit, in accordance with Freud’s attempt to define this term. To this end the theoretical tradition of a work clinic is taken up again from a particular angle as a clinic of activity.The definition of a work collective is questioned through a singular example belonging to the field of creation, namely the aborted professional relationships between three poets in Weimar: Hölderlin, Schiller and Goethe.

Anteriority of ethics on the collective work

Summary

In a cross-reading of psychodynamics of work with institutional psychotherapy, the author questions the relationship between the collective – conceived as an agonistic space – and the underlining of ethics. She analyzes the relationship between courtesy as a social rule and kindness as an ethical rule and stresses the limits of the Aristotelian model of collective deliberation, when one needs to think about the dynamics of the caring collective taking into account its heterogeneity. Ethics is considered as a condition of the collective around a “necessary minimum” that makes possible the conflict and the elaboration of ethical rules for action. The article concludes with the questions raised by the articulation between the peer group and the function of director.

 

Grief, work without a goal or the freaky expression “work of grief” (Lagache)

Abstract

The translation of Trauerbeit by “​work of grief”, quite popular today both in psychoanalytical discourse and community and in common usage, has never been controversial. And yet, linking “work” to “grief” definitely has effects on clinical practice: what results could be expected from an experience Freud himself deemed inconsolable? Historicizing the way “death was made savage”, as Philippe Ariès wrote, may help understand how grief has become an “intimate undertaking”, a private business.

The work of “entours”, an everyday life’s clinic in institutional care

Abstract

Work daily life in institution is subtle and delicate. The author, recolling a clinical situation and moments of  daily life in a day hospital, tries to illustrate this work of the atmosphere, the “entours” of which Jean Oury speaks.
These little unexpected moments that disturb and surprise us, make us perceive the complexity, the difficulty but also the wealth of what the patients deposit in the interstices of the establishment.

For this the Therapeutic Club, operator of change is a valuable tool. A stimulating opposing-power to the hierarchical functioning of the institution, its movement helps to strive routine and inertia.

How Jean Oury, a giant of psychiatry, can help us to practice a humane psychiatry

Summary :

 

Jean Oury is one of the main creators and actors of the mouvment of institutinnal therapy. Along his professionnal life, he created many and important conceptions for the practice and theorisation of human psychiatry. Some of his inventions (double alienation, dissociated transferance, transferancial constellation, « collectif »,…)are studied in this paper and give an idea of his importance, on the psychopathological way and also on the societal and politic way.

institutional psychotherapy, a permanent creation

Abstract. This text reflects a long-term practice with psychotic patients and the establishment with them of a system in the city of Reims.
Structure mainly based on the ambulatory by Antonin Artaud Unit, but also hold by 5 therapeutic clubs present in various places of the service.
From a transmission / reinvention where patients but also seniors as Roger Gentis and Jean Oury played a crucial role , the essential concepts of institutional psychotherapy are being revisited and acted in a permanent recreation.
The heterogeneous as a founding principle, but also “the club function” contribute to the setting in motion of the Collective, and help the reconstruction for each of a livable and desirable world.
This also assumes a working gathering conscious of psychic continuity, essential to fight against fragmentation and cleavage.
Putting on an equal footing patients and caregivers will thus allow a instituting praxis, and the creation of an patient association named Humapsy.
Keywords: therapeutic club, club function, “phoric” function, Collective, permanent recreation, heterogeneous, institutional psychotherapy.

The collective in itself

Abstract. Institutional therapy includes a vast and heterogeneous set of practices, ideas, thoughts, writings which are particularly inspiring at this moment in time. This article illustrates thoughts about institutional work in an out-patient hospital receiving adolescents and young adults with symptoms from autistic spectrum.

Instituer le conflit dans le travail de culture

Résumé

L’article est consacré à repérer la fonction vitale du conflit dans le Kulturarbeit que cherche à définir Freud. Pour ce faire la tradition théorique de la clinique du travail est reprise sous l’angle particulier d’une clinique de l’activité. La définition du collectif de travail est questionnée à partir d’un exemple singulier pris dans le domaine de la création : celui des rapports professionnels avortés entre trois poètes à Weimar : Hölderlin, Schiller et Goethe.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Antériorité de l’éthique sur le collectif

Résumé

Dans une lecture croisée de la psychodynamique du travail avec la psychothérapie institutionnelle, l’auteure interroge le rapport entre le collectif conçu comme espace agonistique et la sous-jacence de l’éthique. Elle analyse les rapports entre la politesse comme règle sociale et la gentillesse comme règle éthique et souligne les limites du modèle aristotélicien de la délibération collective, quand on a besoin de penser la dynamique du collectif soignant en tenant compte de son hétérogénéité. L’éthique est considérée comme condition du collectif autour d’un « minimum nécessaire » qui rend possible le conflit et l’élaboration de règles éthiques pour l’action. L’article se conclut sur les questions soulevées par l’articulation entre le collectif de pairs et la fonction de chef d’orchestre.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Le deuil, un « travail » sans objectif ou « l’insolite expression “travail de deuil” » (Lagache)

Résumé.

La traduction de Trauerarbeit par « travail de deuil », passée aujourd’hui tant dans le discours et la communauté psychanalytiques que dans l’usage commun, a soulevé peu d’interrogations. Pourtant le terme de travail associé au terme deuil a des effets sur la clinique même : quel résultat peut-on attendre d’une expérience dont Freud lui-même disait qu’elle relevait de l’inconsolable ? Une historicisation de « l’ensauvagement de la mort », selon l’expression de Philippe Ariès peut être utile pour comprendre comment le deuil est devenu une « entreprise intime », une affaire de soi à soi.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Le travail des entours, une clinique du quotidien en institution

Résumé :

Travailler le quotidien en institution est subtil et délicat. L’auteur, par l’évocation d’une situation clinique et de moments du quotidien d’un hôpital de jour, tente d’illustrer ce travail de l’ambiance, des « entours » dont parle Jean OURY.

Ces petits moments d’inattendus qui nous dérangent et nous surprennent, font percevoir la complexité, la difficulté mais aussi la richesse de ce que les patients déposent dans les interstices de l’établissement.

Pour cela le Club Thérapeutique, opérateur de changement est un outil précieux. Contre-pouvoir stimulant au fonctionnement hiérarchisé de l’établissement, son mouvement aide à lutter contre la routine et l’inertie.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Comment Jean Oury (1924-2014), un géant de la psychiatrie, peut nous aider à pratiquer une psychiatrie à visage humain?

Résumé :

Jean Oury, est un des principaux fondateurs et acteurs de la Psychothérapie institutionnelle. Au cours de son existence, il a inventé et approfondi de nombreuses notions essentielles pour la pratique et la théorie d’une psychiatrie humaine. Quelques uns de ses concepts (double aliénation, transfert dissocié, constellation transférentielle, collectif…) sont rappelés dans cet article et donnent une idée de leur importance dans la psychiatrie contemporaine, aussi bien sur le plan psychopathologique que politique et sociétal.

Lire le reste de cet article »

La psychothérapie institutionnelle: une création permanente

Résumé. Ce texte reflète une pratique à long terme avec des patients psychotiques et la création avec eux d’un réseau dans la ville de Reims.
La structure principale est l’Unité ambulatoire Antonin Artaud, mais il existe aussi cinq clubs thérapeutiques qui sont présents en différents lieux dans divers services.
A partir d’une transmission et d’une réinvention par les patients, mais aussi par les personnes âgées dont Roger Gentis et Jean Oury ont montré le rôle crucial, les concepts essentiels de la psychothérapie institutionnelle sont revus et permettent d’agir dans une recréation permanente.
L’hétérogénéité comme un principe fondateur, mais aussi « la fonction de club », contribuent à la mise en mouvement du Collectif, et aide à la reconstruction pour chacun d’un monde vivable et souhaitable.
Cela suppose aussi un travail de conscience collective pour une continuité psychique, qui est essentielle dans la lutte contre la fragmentation et le clivage.
Mettre les patients et les soignants sur un pied d’égalité leur permettra ainsi une praxis instituante, et la création d’une association de patients nommée Humapsy.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Le collectif en soi

Résumé. La psychothérapie institutionnelle regroupe tout un ensemble vaste et hétérogène de pratiques, d’idées, de pensées, de textes qui se trouvent être tout particulièrement inspirants dans la période actuelle où les effets du travail institutionnel sur les personnes accueillies dans des lieux de soin sont cruciaux à interroger. Cet article témoigne d’une réflexion sur le travail institutionnel mené dans un hôpital de jour accueillant des adolescents et jeunes adultes présentant des symptômes du spectre autistique.

Lire le reste de cet article »