Value of trauma clinics in the encounter with cancer – suffering patients

Abstract

 

In this text, I have wished to convey how a psychodynamic approach with patients facing cancer-illness, is likely to meet the needs of a great number of cases. By psychodynamic, I mean the transferential approach of trauma, such as was decisively investigated by Ferenczi, D. W. Winnicott, etc….

The specificity of this therapeutic approach, as well when meeting the patient, as throughout the treatment, enables the actual trauma of illness, beside its destructive consequences, to contribute a life – and hope – enhancing experience. Providing the clinician’s listening is based on the working-through of his / her own trauma, it may furthermore bring into reach those traumata of early bonds – such as are transgenerationally or historically induced – allowing the therapist to adjust to (tune into) the urge (call) for being and growth of an unclaimed-for child, and be willing to join in, at the borders between life and death, for a journey through – and out of – breakdown.

Sexuality, Breuer, it’s all about sexuality… » What else ?

Summary

Taking the widely studied cleavage between the Breuerian issue of trauma and its Freudian restriction to sexuality as a start, this study aims to question the Freudian formalization. Thus Freud puts from the outset in series the “Freudian sexuality” as a postulate of an universal function for every subject, and its modelizations : its psychic representations as well as the constructions of the partner that result from. This study concludes by developing a hypostatic logic of both father and partner elaborated as complex models.

The contribution of psycho-analysis in institutions taking care of autistic persons

Summary. The contribution of psycho-analysis in institutions taking care of autistic persons
Among the different, complementary approaches, psycho-analysis has a specific contribution in an individual setting, in the relation with families and in team work.
Meeting with an autistic person with regard for his sensorial interests, without imposing a direct glance and welcoming his sponaneous glances, facilitates communitaion, prevents states of sensorial or emotional saturation and diminishes the spacial anxieties. Before insisting on socially adapted behaviour, it is indicated to work in psychotherapy on the feeling to exist in his body and environment; this helps the launch into a spontaneous relationship and prepares a better availability for the proposed activities and social requirements. Putting words to and talking about bodily difficulties, playing with sensorial variations as well as understanding and making limited behaviour meaningful, will reduce the violent behaviour, hyperagitation, states of emotional saturation, mental clivage and muscular tension. The institutional work based on the analysis of the effects of transfer pays attention to complementary approaches with the families, thus preventing clivages. The tranquility and appeasing effect of this approach diminishes the behavioural problems of autistic persons, makes less medicin is needed and assists in their development. Read more

Fécondité de la clinique du trauma dans la rencontre avec le patient atteint de cancer

Résumé

 

Dans ce texte, j’ai voulu montrer en quoi une approche psychodynamique du patient confronté au cancer, fondée sur l’abord transférentiel du trauma tel qu’exploré de façon décisive par Ferenczi, Winnicott, etc., pouvait répondre aux besoins d’un grand nombre de malades.

La spécificité de cette approche thérapeutique, tant dans la rencontre que dans le processus de cure, peut en effet contribuer, pour le patient, à faire du trauma du cancer, à côté de son impact destructeur, une expérience qui peut être mutative, porteuse de vie et d’espoir. Elle peut notamment être l’occasion d’avoir accès à ces traumas des liens précoces, transgénérationnels ou de la grande histoire, si toutefois le psychanalyste est apte, à partir ed l’élaboration de ses propres traumas, à entendre l’appel à être et à naître de cet enfant issu du trauma n’ayant pas eu droit de cité, non attesté, et à le rejoindre dans ces confins entre la vie et la mort, lui permettant de traverser l’effondrement.

Lire le reste de cet article »

Le sexuel, Breuer, toujours le sexuel… » Mais encore ?

Résumé

A partir du clivage largement étudié de la problématique breuerienne du trauma et de sa restriction freudienne au sexuel, nous interrogeons ici la formalisation freudienne afférente qui d’emblée met en série le sexuel comme postulat d’une fonction universelle pour tout sujet, et ses conditions de modélisations : du côté de ses conditions de représentation psychique, et du côté des constructions du partenaire qui s’ensuivent. Nous terminons cette étude en posant l’axe de développement qui situe une logique hypostasique du père et du partenaire, dès lors construits comme modèles complexes.

Lire le reste de cet article »

L’apport de la psychanalyse en institution dans la clinique de l’autisme

Résumé. La psychanalyse apporte aux personnes autistes une spécificité dans une complémentarité d’approches, dans les suivis individuels, en lien avec les familles et dans les équipes. La rencontre avec une personne autiste dans ses intérêts sensoriels, sans imposer un regard en direct tout en accueillant les regards spontanés facilite la communication, évite des états de saturation sensorielle et émotionnelle, et diminue les angoisses spatiales. Avant d’exiger des comportements socialement adaptés, un travail en psychothérapie sur la construction du sentiment d’exister dans son corps et dans son environnement favorise la relance spontanée du lien et prépare à une meilleure disponibilité aux activités proposées et aux exigences sociales. La narrativité des éprouvés corporels, le jeu avec des variations sensorielles, la compréhension et la mise en sens des enjeux des comportements restreints réduisent les comportements violents, l’hyperagitation, les états de saturation sensorielle, l’état de clivage et les tensions musculaires. Le travail institutionnel à partir de l’analyse des effets du transfert veille à l’articulation d’approches complémentaires en lien avec les familles en évitant les clivages. L’apaisement que procure cette approche permet de diminuer les troubles du comportements des personnes autistes, le recours aux traitements médicamenteux et participe à leur évolution.

Lire le reste de cet article »